News From The Web – Mad For Alice?

Leave a comment

November 10, 2015 by Liza Lou

alice

Unless you have been living under a rock you will have already seen the new trailers for  Tim Burton’s follow-up to the 2010  Alice In Wonderland. My thoughts hope for  something a little darker than the first film and judging by what I have seen so far, I may actually get what I want. Don’t get me wrong, as a life long Alice fan, the first film had some merits for me but oddly I found the 1951 Disney version   to be creepier. With Burton being a master of combining whimsy with the macabre I did expect more when he took on my favourite story. That said, maybe setting the scene was a clever idea and the second film will allow the character’s personalities to deepen and show through – I’m sure Lewis Carroll wasn’t thinking all about gum drops and unicorns when he wrote it!

Anyhoo, I digress. What I want to talk about in this post is a set of photos that have surfaced. I presume these character head shots are going to be used for promotional posters in the run up to the 2016 release but I thought it would be fun to have a look now (with my two cents on each of them of course).

 

alice1

An Alice film needs an Alice obviously and Mia Wasikowska is back to reprise her role. It appears that Alice returns to ‘wonderland’ in order to save her friend the mad hatter but why or from who I am unsure. What I am sure about however is that even though Wasikowkska looks flawless in this pic I know just how well she can play weird so I hope she brings it.

 

alice2

Also back in his role as the hatter is Johnny Depp but nowadays it’s not a Burton film without him is it? To be totally honest though I couldn’t imagine this character being played by anyone else now and I am fine with that. I have always read the mad hatter as having some form of mental health illness so it’s a special one for me and Depp played (and hopefully continues to play) him well.

 

alice3

Oh that bulbous head! Helena Bonham Carter’s red queen is my favourite character that Burton brought to life. I love her look, her sassiness and the fact that she comes across as a little stupid. I’d love a little more evil though.

alice4

Anne Hathaway was originally a casting choice I was dubious about but she is also back as the white queen. It isn’t that I dislike Hathaway but she is so serene and doll-like that she carries an air of fragility about her. I wasn’t sure how this would transfer into a royal role that demands power and I still aren’t but hey what do I know?!

 

alice5

Finally a new character to coo over and if what I am reading is to be believed, there is more than one coming. This is the only still of a newbee to be released though and it is of Sacha Baron Cohen as Time who is part human part clock. I don’t know much more than that I am afraid although I hear that the story will feature time travel, something the original book didn’t so that is interesting. I have a love/hate relationship with Baron Cohen but I do think he could play twisted bad guy so I certainly have an open mind.

 

What do you think? Let me know xx

Leave a Reply

